Here are the main reasons your California driver's license could be suspended or revoked.
No insurance: All vehicles in California must be insured. You are required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times, and present it to a police officer when asked. If you're not insured and you get in an accident, your driver's license will be suspended for four years. After the first year, it may be returned if you provide proof of insurance to the DMV, and maintain it for the next three years.
Failure to report an accident: California law requires all drivers involved in a car accident to file a Report of Traffic Accident form within 10 days if anyone was injured or killed, or if damage exceeds $750. Failure to file a report will result in the suspension of your driver's license.
DUI conviction: California has some of the toughest DUI laws in the country, and your license will be suspended for six months upon your first conviction. You may petition for a restricted license in some cases (not many). A second and third may lose you your license for two to four years.
Underage drinking: California has a zero-tolerance law for those under 21, which means that no amount of alcohol in your blood is acceptable if you're driving. You'll lose your driver's license for one year or until you turn 18, whichever is later.
Failure or refusal of a drug or alcohol test: California's implied consent laws mean that if you refuse a blood, breath, or urine test to avoid getting a DUI, your license will be suspended or revoked―even if you're innocent.
Excessive points on a driving record: The DMV maintains a record of all your traffic convictions using what is known as the "Negligent Driver Points" system. If you get too many points on your record, your license can be suspended or revoked.
If you have too many points, the California DMV will put you on driving probation for one year, including a license suspension for six months, or revoke your driver's license altogether.
Vandalism: The California DMV and the courts have taken a hard stance against vandalism. If you are convicted of such a charge, your driver's license will be suspended for one year. If you're too young to drive, your right to apply for a driver's license will be delayed by one year.
Failure to appear: Whenever you sign for a traffic ticket, you are signing a promise to appear in court. If you neither show up nor pay the fine on time, the court will report your failure to appear to the California DMV, and your license may be suspended.
For a free consultation with LA Attorney Avi Zvulun, call 818.720.5288 or 888.333.2636 Toll Free or contact us online.