The California Vehicle Code defines reckless driving as driving a vehicle "in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property." You can be charged with reckless driving on public roads or in a public or private parking facility. A reckless driving charge can, and often does, come along with other criminal charges stemming from the same incident.
Reckless driving may sound minor, but the consequences can be much more serious than the consequences of an infraction such as a speeding ticket. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor charge carrying imprisonment for five to 90 days, a fine of $145 to $1,000, or both. If someone was hurt or killed as a result of the reckless driving, or if you have a prior reckless driving conviction on your record, those penalties can increase. In addition, the DMV will put two points on your driver's license and may count a conviction against you in any future license suspension hearing or other legal proceeding. Your automobile insurance may be cancelled or the premium dramatically increased after a conviction for reckless driving.
California Vehicle Code§ 23103.5: Wet Reckless or Reckless Driving Involving Alcohol(Priorable as a California DUI)
(a) Any person who drives any vehicle upon a highway in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.
(b) Any person who drives any vehicle in any off-street parking facility, as defined in subdivision (c) of Section 12500, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.
(c) Persons convicted of the offense of reckless driving shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for not less than five days nor more than 90 days or by a fine of not less than one hundred forty-five dollars ($145) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment, except as provided in Section 23104. Amended Sec. 19, Ch. 739, Stats. 2001. Effective January 1, 2002.
Reckless Driving: Bodily Injury Vehicle Code 23104
(a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), whenever reckless driving of a vehicle proximately causes bodily injury to any person other than the driver, the person driving the vehicle shall, upon conviction thereof, be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less than two hundred twenty dollars ($220) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment.
(b) Any person convicted of reckless driving which proximately causes great bodily injury, as defined in Section 12022.7 of the Penal Code, to any person other than the driver, who previously has been convicted of a violation of Section 23103, 23104, 23109, 23152, or 23153, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 30 days nor more than six months or by a fine of not less than two hundred twenty dollars ($220) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by both the fine and imprisonment. Amended Ch. 216, Stats. 1984. Effective January 1, 1985.
Los Angeles traffic defense attorney Avi Zvulun understands how to analyze the police report, your prior record, evidence of extenuating circumstances, and the other facts of your case. Then he develops a strategy that considers all defenses to the charges, and if the charges cannot be dismissed or reduced, he may consider a plea agreement with the prosecution that will do your driving record the minimum amount of harm.
In many situations, Avi Zvulun will have previous experience in negotiating arrangements with a particular prosecuting attorney, and will know just how to present the circumstances of your case to best assure a positive outcome
For a free consultation with LA Attorney Avi Zvulun, call 818.720.5288 or 888.333.2636 Toll Free or contact us online.